Skip to main content

A Part D Late Enrollment Penalty Is Permanent. The Amount It Costs Is Not.

Two Medicare late enrollment penalties are described the same way in almost every summary: sign up late, pay more for life. They are built on different units. The Part D drug penalty counts single months and multiplies them by a premium figure that the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services resets every year. The Part B medical penalty counts only completed twelve-month periods and multiplies them by a much larger premium. For 2026 the two base figures are $38.99 and $202.90. What follows is what each formula does with the same gap, and why one of them costs a different amount every January while the gap behind it does not change. What Starts the Part D Count The condition is not lateness in general. The Medicare drug coverage cost page states: “You may owe a late enrollment penalty if at any time after your Initial Enrollment Period is over, there’s a period of 63 or more days in a row when you don’t have Medicare drug coverage or other creditable prescriptio...

529 Plans Count as Parent Assets on the FAFSA. UTMA Accounts Don't.

A family with a dependent student and money already set aside faces a narrower question than "how should college be paid for." The narrower question is which container holds the money on the day the FAFSA is filed, because the same dollar is counted differently depending on who legally owns it. Two containers dominate: a Section 529 qualified tuition program and a custodial account opened under a state Uniform Transfers to Minors Act. From the outside they look like variations on one idea. They diverge in three places that decide outcomes: who owns the account, what federal financial aid does with the balance, and what the IRS does with the earnings.

The divergence starts at ownership, not at features

The Internal Revenue Service describes a 529 account in ownership terms: "Whoever purchases the 529 plan is the custodian and controls the funds until they are withdrawn." The child is the designated beneficiary, a label on the account rather than a property interest. The owner can withdraw, reallocate, or move the account to a different beneficiary. Publication 970 limits replacements to members of the beneficiary's family, among them the spouse, children, grandchildren, parents, grandparents, and siblings, including step and in-law relationships. Redirecting a balance from one child to another is routine.

A custodial account under a Uniform Transfers to Minors Act works the opposite way. The transfer is an irrevocable gift to the minor at the moment it is made, and the adult listed on the account is a custodian, not an owner. The Federal Student Aid Handbook states the point without qualification: "Because the minor is the owner of the account, it counts as the minor's asset on the FAFSA form, not the asset of the custodian, who is often the parent." There is no beneficiary to change, only an owner who happens to be a minor. At the age of transfer set by the governing state statute, custodianship ends and the now-adult owner takes direct control, with no restriction on how the balance is spent.

Figure 1. Where the legal ownership sits Every downstream difference follows from this one line. 529 qualified tuition program LEGAL OWNER The adult who opened it THE CHILD IS A designated beneficiary (a label) CAN THE NAME BE CHANGED? Yes, to a family member, with no tax consequence AT THE AGE OF MAJORITY Nothing happens. The owner still controls the account Control never transfers by operation of law UTMA custodial account LEGAL OWNER The minor, from day one THE ADULT IS A custodian holding property CAN THE NAME BE CHANGED? No. The gift is irrevocable at the moment it is made AT THE AGE OF TRANSFER Custodianship ends. The balance is spendable on anything Control transfers by statute, on a fixed date Sources: IRS, 529 Plans: Questions and Answers; IRS Publication 970; Federal Student Aid Handbook 2026–27, Application and Verification Guide, Chapter 2.

What the FAFSA does with each dollar

The Student Aid Index formula puts parent-held and student-held assets on separate tracks. For a dependent student, the Federal Student Aid Handbook states that a 529 account "is reported as a parental investment if the account is designated for the dependent student (accounts designated for other children in the family are not included)." It adds a sentence that catches most grandparent-funded accounts: "If the student is the beneficiary (but not the owner) of the account, the value is not reported as a student asset." A custodial account goes on the other track, because the minor owns it.

From there the 2026–27 Student Aid Index and Pell Grant Eligibility Guide applies two different rates. Parent assets run through an "Asset Conversion Rate (12%)." Student assets run through an "Asset Conversion Rate (20%)." The 20% figure ends the student track: the product is the Student Contribution from Assets and it lands in the Student Aid Index directly. The 12% figure does not end the parent track. The parents' contribution from assets is added to parents' available income to produce Parent Adjusted Available Income, which is then assessed under Table A5. The 2026–27 Handbook describes that table plainly: "The rates in Table A5 increase from 22% to 47% as the adjusted available income increases," with the top band applying to adjusted available income above $43,900.

Multiplying the two steps gives the range that matters. A dollar of parent assets moves the Student Aid Index by 2.64% (0.12 x 0.22) to 5.64% (0.12 x 0.47) of its value. A dollar of student assets moves it by a flat 20% — four times the top of the parent range, eight times the bottom.

Figure 2. The same $30,000, two assessment tracks 2026–27 Student Aid Index formula, dependent student, Formula A. $30,000 saved one child, one balance Parent-owned 529 reported as a parental investment UTMA custodial account reported as a student investment Step 1 — conversion rate 12% $3,600 folded into available income Single step — conversion rate 20% $6,000 straight into the SAI Step 2 — Table A5, 22% to 47% $792 to $1,692 added to the SAI No second step. No asset protection allowance for students. Source: U.S. Department of Education, Federal Student Aid, 2026–27 Student Aid Index (SAI) and Pell Grant Eligibility Guide, Formula A, lines 16–19 and 35–36.

A worked figure, held constant across four filings

Take $30,000, held constant. As a parent-owned 529 in the top Table A5 band: $30,000 at 12% = $3,600, then $3,600 at 47% = $1,692 of SAI. As a UTMA account: $30,000 at 20% = $6,000, finished. The gap is $4,308 in one award year, $17,232 across four filings — more than half the account.

The gap narrows for lower-income households as the Table A5 rate falls: at the 22% end the 529 produces $792 against the UTMA's $6,000, a difference of $5,208 per year. The direction never reverses, because 20% exceeds 5.64% at every point in the table.

Neither side gets an allowance in 2026–27. Table A4 sets the parents' asset protection allowance at $0 for every parent age band, single or two-parent, and Formula A contains no corresponding subtraction line for students at all. The difference is entirely in the rate and the number of steps.

What the IRS does with each dollar

Inside a 529

Contributions are not federally deductible: "Contributions to a 529 plan, however, are not deductible." What it provides is exemption on growth: earnings "are not subject to federal tax and generally not subject to state tax when used for the qualified education expenses of the designated beneficiary."

The definition of qualified has widened. For post-secondary education it covers tuition and fees at eligible institutions, plus books, supplies, and room and board within limits. For elementary and secondary school, IRS Topic 313 sets the annual ceiling at "$20,000 per year ($10,000 limit before Dec. 31, 2025) from all of the designated beneficiary's QTPs" — a doubling effective for calendar 2026. Apprenticeship fees, books, supplies, and required equipment qualify, and student loan repayment qualifies up to a "$10,000 lifetime" cap on principal or interest. Under the rollover provision effective after December 31, 2023, unused balances can move to the beneficiary's Roth IRA by direct trustee-to-trustee transfer, subject to a "$35,000 lifetime limit" and a 15-year minimum account age.

Money taken out for anything else is not forfeited, but the earnings portion becomes taxable income and carries a 10% additional tax. Publication 970 lists exceptions: distributions not exceeding a scholarship the beneficiary received, distributions matching veterans' educational assistance or military academy costs, and distributions after the beneficiary's death or disability. Expenses claimed for the American opportunity or lifetime learning credit are also carved out.

Inside a UTMA

A custodial account carries no tax shelter. It is ordinary taxable investing with the child as the taxpayer, which brings in the tax on the unearned income of certain children. Revenue Procedure 2025-32 sets the 2026 figure at $1,350: the standard deduction for a dependent "cannot exceed the greater of (1) $1,350, or (2) the sum of $450 and the individual's earned income," and $1,350 is also the amount used to reduce net unearned income on the child's return. Three bands follow: the first $1,350 is covered by the dependent standard deduction, the next $1,350 is taxed at the child's own rate, and everything above the combined $2,700 is taxed at the parents' rate. IRS Topic 553 states the trigger in the same terms.

The reach extends past 18. Topic 553 applies the tax to a child under 18, an 18-year-old whose earned income did not exceed half of their support, and a full-time student "at least age 19 and under age 24 at the end of the tax year" on the same support test. A custodial account exits the regime when the student stops attending full time, turns 24, or earns more than half of their support — not at the age of majority.

A worked figure on the tax side

Take a $60,000 custodial account yielding 3% in dividends and interest — $1,800 of unearned income in 2026, with no other income for the child. The first $1,350 is absorbed by the dependent standard deduction and the remaining $450 is taxed at the child's rate; nothing reaches the parents' rate. At $120,000 and the same yield, unearned income is $3,600: $1,350 sheltered, $1,350 at the child's rate, $900 at the parents' marginal rate. The same $120,000 inside a 529 generates no annual tax event at all.

That pair of numbers is the trade. The 529 buys tax exemption in return for a restricted spending list. The custodial account buys an unrestricted spending list in return for annual taxation and a permanent handover of control.

Gift tax sits above both, and treats them the same

Contributions to either account are completed gifts to the child, so the annual exclusion governs both. Revenue Procedure 2025-32: "For calendar year 2026, the first $19,000 of gifts to any person (other than gifts of future interests in property) are not included in the total amount of taxable gifts." Each spouse has a separate exclusion, so a married couple can move $38,000 to one child without a taxable gift.

One provision applies to 529 accounts and not to custodial accounts: an election to treat a lump contribution as though spread over five calendar years. At the 2026 exclusion that is $95,000 from one donor, or $190,000 from a married couple electing to split, reported on Form 709, and it consumes that beneficiary's annual exclusion in each of the five years. The exclusion is indexed but moves in steps, which matters when a five-year election is planned around a specific figure.

Figure 3. Annual gift tax exclusion per donee, 2018–2026 Indexed for inflation, but it moves in steps and sometimes holds flat. $0 $5,000 $10,000 $15,000 $20,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 15,000 16,000 17,000 18,000 19,000 19,000 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 flat for four years held flat Source: Internal Revenue Service, Frequently Asked Questions on Gift Taxes, annual exclusion table; Rev. Proc. 2025-32 for calendar year 2026.

The two accounts side by side

Point of comparison529 plan (parent-owned)UTMA custodial account
Legal ownerThe adult who opened the accountThe minor, from the date of transfer
FAFSA reporting for a dependent studentParental investmentStudent investment
Assessment rate12% conversion, then 22%–47% of adjusted available incomeFlat 20%, no second step
Effective drag on the Student Aid Index2.64% to 5.64%20%
Tax on annual growthNone while inside the accountTaxable to the child each year
Unearned income before the parents' rate appliesNot applicable$2,700 in 2026
Spending restrictionQualified education expenses, or a 10% tax on earningsNone once custodianship ends
K–12 tuition ceiling$20,000 per beneficiary per year from 2026Not applicable

Three readings the source documents contradict

"A grandparent's 529 hurts the student's aid." The handbook reports value as a parental investment only when the parent owns the account, and states that "if the student is the beneficiary (but not the owner) of the account, the value is not reported as a student asset." An account owned by someone outside the FAFSA household appears on neither line.

"A 529 can only be used for college." Topic 313 lists elementary and secondary tuition, curriculum materials, books, tutoring fees, standardized tests, dual enrollment fees, apprenticeship costs, and student loan principal or interest. And the 10% additional tax applies to the earnings portion only, not to contributions.

"Money in a UTMA is earmarked for education." Nothing in the structure earmarks it. Once custodianship ends, the balance is the adult child's property to spend on anything. Education is the intention of whoever funded it, not a term of the account.

Numbers to Re-check

FigureValue used hereWhere to verifyWhen it changes
Annual gift tax exclusion$19,000 for 2026IRS, FAQ on Gift TaxesAnnual revenue procedure
Dependent standard deduction and kiddie tax step$1,350 for 2026IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32Annually, indexed
Unearned income threshold for the parents' rate$2,700 for 2026IRS Topic 553Annually, indexed
Parent asset conversion rate12%SAI and Pell Grant Eligibility Guide, Formula A line 16Each award year guide
Student asset conversion rate20%Same guide, Formula A line 35Each award year guide
Table A5 top band47% above $43,900Same guide, Table A5Each award year guide
Parents' asset protection allowance$0 for all ages, 2026–27Same guide, Table A4Each award year guide
K–12 expense ceiling in a 529$20,000 per year from 2026IRS Topic 313By statute, not indexed
529 student loan repayment cap$10,000 lifetimeIRS Topic 313By statute, not indexed
529 to Roth IRA rollover cap$35,000 lifetime, 15-year accountIRS Topic 313By statute
Minimum Student Aid Indexminus $1,500FSA Handbook 2026–27, Chapter 3By statute

Where This Doesn't Apply

When assets are not reported at all. The 2026–27 Handbook exempts certain applicants from asset reporting entirely on income and filing conditions. A family that never reaches the asset questions gets nothing from the 12%-versus-20% distinction, and the aid argument here drops out.

When the student is independent. For an independent student, the handbook states that "accounts owned by the student (and/or the student's spouse) are reported as student investments." A 529 owned by an independent student is a student asset at 20%. Graduate students, married students, and students over 24 fall here, and the placement argument reverses.

When the school does not use the federal formula alone. Institutions awarding their own funds may apply a separate methodology that counts assets the federal formula excludes, so a conclusion drawn from Formula A does not carry to an institutional award letter.

When state income tax is the larger term. There is no federal deduction for 529 contributions, but many states offer a deduction or credit against state tax for contributions to their own plan. In a high-rate state with a generous cap that benefit can outweigh the aid arithmetic; in a state with no income tax it is zero. The federal documents do not answer this.

When the money has already been given. A UTMA transfer is irrevocable. A custodian cannot simply convert the account into a parent-owned 529; the child's property remains the child's, and any restructuring is bounded by the state statute and the tax cost of liquidating the position. This comparison is about placing new money.

When the child is not going to college, or the balance is small. If the intended use is a vehicle, a business, or a down payment, the 529's expense list is a constraint rather than a benefit, and the FAFSA comparison is irrelevant to a child who never files one. A $5,000 balance produces a $1,000 student asset contribution against roughly $282 as a parent asset at the top rate: the percentage gap is constant, the dollar gap is not.

Concrete framework

  1. Establish whether the student files as dependent or independent. That decides which of the handbook's two asset sentences applies.
  2. Locate the household's likely Table A5 band. At 22% the drag on parent assets is 2.64%; at 47% it is 5.64%. The comparison against a flat 20% holds at both ends in direction, not in size.
  3. Compute the unearned income a custodial balance would generate and compare it against the 2026 marks of $1,350 and $2,700.
  4. Separate money with a fixed education purpose from money without one. The 529's restrictions cost only the second category.
  5. Check the state's own treatment of contributions, which federal documents do not cover and which can be the largest single term.
  6. Re-pull every figure above before acting. Award year guides and revenue procedures are reissued annually.

This article explains how the rules are written. It is not tax, legal, or insurance advice, and it does not account for any individual situation. Amounts and thresholds change; verify the current figures at the source listed above before acting.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The 2027 COLA Rests on Three CPI-W Readings and Two Are Unpublished

The cost-of-living adjustment that will appear in Social Security payments in January 2027 does not exist yet. It is not a projection that the Social Security Administration is preparing, and it is not a policy choice that anyone will make in the fall. It is an arithmetic result of three monthly price index readings, and as of late August 2026 only the first of the three has been published. That distinction matters for anyone building a household budget around it. A forecast published in August is a statement about two unpublished numbers. The mechanism that will convert those numbers into a percentage, however, is fully specified in advance and can be described exactly. What the adjustment actually measures The Social Security Administration states that the COLA is based on the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers, abbreviated CPI-W and produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The comparison is not year over year in the ordinary sense. SSA compares...

20.94 Percent Versus 6.52 Percent: Ranking Debt Payoff Against Investing the Same Dollar

A household with a card balance, a student loan, a car note and a few hundred dollars of monthly slack faces a ranking problem. The same dollar cannot both retire a balance and buy a share. The shorthand that circulates — clear anything above six or seven percent, invest below it — is a summary of an arithmetic result, not the arithmetic. It breaks where the tax code touches one side of the comparison and not the other, and in 2026 it touches two of the four debts most households carry. One side is a rate. The other side is a distribution. Paying a dollar against a revolving balance removes the interest that dollar would have accrued. If the balance would otherwise have sat untouched for twelve months at 22.15 percent, then $1,000 applied to it avoids $221.50 of interest. That is a 22.15 percent return, fixed in advance, with no spread around it, and no Form 1099 is issued for it because avoided interest is not income. Buying an investment produces an expected return with a wide ...

The 24 Percent Withheld From a Powerball Jackpot Is Not the Tax Owed

A jackpot ticket presented at a claim center triggers one flat number: 24 percent . That is the regular gambling withholding rate the IRS requires payers to apply, and it is what appears in box 4 of the resulting Form W-2G. It is not the tax owed. On a prize large enough to make headlines it is roughly two-thirds of the tax owed, and the remainder comes due months later. The gap exists because withholding is a flat rate written into the payer's instructions, while the tax is computed on a graduated schedule that tops out well below any jackpot-sized amount. Sizing that gap before a claim is filed is the difference between a settled tax year and an underpayment penalty. Where the 24 percent comes from The rate is not lottery policy. The IRS Instructions for Forms W-2G and 5754 (Rev. January 2026) direct the payer to apply regular gambling withholding of 24 percent when proceeds from a sweepstakes, wagering pool, or lottery exceed $5,000 and are at least 300 times the amount...